The London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) is one of the foremost social science universities in the world. Its research and teaching span the full breadth of the social sciences, from economics, politics and law to sociology, anthropology, accounting and finance. 16 Nobel prize winners have been LSE staff or alumni. 

Over 100 Finnish students have enrolled at LSE over the last three years, while there are 233 alumni currently living in Finland. Notable Finnish alumni include Emeritus Professor of the University of Helsinki, Jukka Nekakivi (PhD Intl History 1960), Chairman of Royal Dutch Shell, former CEO of Nokia, Jorma Ollila (MSc Economics 1977) and prime minister of Finland, Alexander Stubb (PhD 1999). Prominent Finnish faculty at LSE include Dr Markus Ketola, a Fellow in the Department of Social Policy, and Terhi Rantanen, Professor of Global Media and Communications.